Twelve years after the consecration of the church, the lot on the northeast corner of Second Street and Virginia Avenue was purchased, with an existing frame structure converted for use as the Rectory. 

The decade of the forties brought renewal to the church facilities, with the addition of a Parish Hall and the westward expansion of the chancel, under the guidance of the Reverend Charles N. Tyndell. In 1946, The Warren Sentinel described the interior renovation as having “brought Calvary to the forefront among the handsomest Church interiors in Virginia. In elegance of appointments, the great white marble Altar, hand-carved solid oaken Lectern, crypt-form Credence, hand carved Cathedra and Pulpit and the gem-like Lady Chapel, place Calvary in the very fore-front of parish churches in the entire country and have won it the sobriquet: – ‘The Little Cathedral of the Shenandoah.'”